Skip to content

Jen’s Final Project

October 2, 2009
by

I’m currently working on a paper for another class about folksonomies (user-generated tags, collected and organized for better retrieval and for social uses) being implemented in library websites. Before beginning research I knew absolutely zero about this topic, but I think I should have enough info and finished content by the time this project begins to be okay.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anahit Petrosyan permalink
    October 3, 2009 9:04 pm

    Hi Jen. You have an interesting idea for your final project. I also know very little about folksonomies, so I’d be interested in learning more about it. The topics on social bookmarking and such that we’ll be covering in the second part of this class will likely help you develop your idea further too. How do you imagine exploring this topic in your final project? Are you thinking of explaining what types of folksonomies exist and demonstrating how various libraries are implementing them currently? I would suggest you elaborate more on what aspects of folksonomies, how and to what extent you’d like to cover in your project. All the best on your final project!

  2. Eric permalink
    October 3, 2009 10:37 pm

    Jen,

    I too am very interested in folksonomies as an alternative/supplement to traditional controlled subject cataloging. I would be very interested to see your paper when it is finished. Do you plan to put the paper on the site? I would be very curious to see the web programming side of how tags become attached to content. I would imagine it’s not a very simple process. Did you see the article that was posted about the tagging game at the library? I think someone posted it to the course site earlier:

    http://chronicle.com/blogPost/Labeling-Library-Archives-Is-a/7793/

  3. Jen Lorenzen permalink
    October 3, 2009 10:54 pm

    Hi Anahit,

    I’d love to tell you all the details about my final project, but as I said in my post I’m still working on the content of my paper. It’s looking like it will include: defining tagging systems, describing the major ones in use today, and discussing the pros and cons of integrating tagging into library websites. I have a lot of work to do, so it’s hard to say what parts of the paper will make it into the final project for this class.

    If all else fails, I may fall back on the paper I did for Libr 200, “Public Libraries Serving People With Disabilities.” It would be easy to transfer that content into a website with pages for: disability laws and policies, staff training, assistive technologies, delivery options outside the library, web accessibility, examples of innovative library projects for people with disabilities, and universal design.

    Thankfully, I have some time to make my final decision. But I hope this gives you more of an idea of where I’m headed… or at least two possibilities of where I’m headed.

    Jen

  4. jwardlow permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:35 am

    Hey Jen, cool topic- I’m fascinated by new and outside-the-box ways of cataloging/classifying information. I came across an experimental project by music librarians at Bowling Green State University which had people associate colors with pieces of music as a way of “tagging” them- I don’t how much practical use would come out of a system like that, but a cool idea if nothing else!

  5. clementmunns permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:11 am

    Jen,

    This is a good topic. I would encourage you to go with the tagging idea, but the issue of serving under-served populations is also quite good.

    Please let know which you choose so I can approve you choice and note in my grading system.

    Derek

Leave a Reply

