Skip to content

Ashley’s Final Project Thoughts

October 1, 2009
by

For my final project, I would like to do something concerning a children’s library. I’m looking at doing one of two things:
(1) Creating a website for a pretend children’s library, which would include programming schedules and helpful resources; or
(2) Creating a website which outlines a paper I wrote in a previous class on Technology in the Children’s Library

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mayumimp permalink
    October 2, 2009 7:16 pm

    Hi, Ashley. I thought this website might be helpful for your final project. It is the website for International Children’s Digital Library.
    The website seems a little bit too busy but it has a lot of great ideas you might be able to use for your final project.

    http://en.childrenslibrary.org/

    Their search page is fun too.
    http://www.childrenslibrary.org/icdl/SimpleSearchCategory?ilang=English

    Other children’s library websites you might want to take a look.
    http://www.chipublib.org/forkids/index.php
    http://kids.nypl.org/

    Good luck!
    Mayumi

  2. jonawhipple permalink
    October 4, 2009 12:00 am

    Great idea, Ashley! And it sounds like it would be a lot of fun to build, too! Your post grabbed my interest because I also want to build a website that kids can use. Have fun with it! 🙂

  3. October 5, 2009 1:10 am

    Hi Ashley,
    I like your ideas. I think the second one might give you more information to use as content. I just wanted to add to Mayumi’s comment that I use the Children’s Digital Library site at my school sometimes since we are an IB world school with German immersion. I use it as a German resource for the kids. Another site which is interesting but also a bit overwhelming is http://schoolrooms.com created by SirsiDynix. I think a lot of public libraries are using this learning portal to make their databases more accessible to children.

    Corie

  4. clementmunns permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:01 am

    Ashley,

    This is good; I think the first option is stronger, but either would do; the one thing you need to make sure of is to have a focused topic so that you can make the site audience specific (even if it turns out to be an elaborate path finder for children’s resources that is more usable than the ones mentioned in the other comments). Say, bibliographic instruction for a certain age group.

    Consider this approval of your topic.

    Derek

Leave a Reply

